July 21, 2024

Voting in Dokolo woman MP by-election kicks off successfully

By Bonny Otim Ogwal (bonny.otim@vol.co.ug)


Voting kicked off successfully this morning in Dokolo District woman MP by-election despite low voter turn up in some areas.

95,000 voters have registered to vote in 173 polling stations across 14 Sub Counties in Dokolo District.

The race is between NRM flag bearer, Janet Rose Adongo Elau Okello, UPC’s Sarah Aguti Nyangkori, Dr Rosemary Alwoch Ogwal of the FDC, Harriet Ageno of NUP as well as Dr Esther Akullu Obot and Rebbecca Arao, all on independent ticket.

By press time, at Adip Primary School polling station, 95 out of 469 voters had cast their votes while at Adeknino A polling station, 95 out of 915 voters had cast their votes, among other polling stations.

At Dokolo P7 polling station, by 8am, voting had not yet started due to a fault in the Biometric Voter Verification Kit, but new kits were taken to the polling station according to Stephen Tashyobya, a commissioner of the electoral Commission.

Dokolo RDC, Barbara Akech said they have not received any security issues, and assured the public of peaceful election.

But the FDC president, Patrick Amuriat Oboi told Voice of Lango at Angwecibangi Primary School that some of their supporters were arrested last night in Bata Town Council and a sum of one million shillings that was meant for paying their agents was reportedly stolen.

However the North Kyoga region police spokesperson SP Patrick Okema accused Oboi is fanning political propaganda to gain sympathy.

Okema said they asked Oboi and his team to record statements but he has not complied.

By 10am, the NRM flag bearer, Janet Rose Adongo Elau Okello had cast her vote at Angwecibangi Primary School and expressed hope of winning this election.

FDC flag bearer, Dr Rosemary Austin Alwoch Ogwal wh cast her vote at around 11am said she will continue fulfilling her late mother, Cecilia Ogwal’s unfinished business.