April 15, 2024

Ajuri leaders moot plans to split constituency

By Isaac Okello (isaac.okello@vol.co.ug)


Leaders of Ajuri County in Alebtong District have resolved to split Ajuri County and create a new constituency which will be named Ajuri East County.

The resolution was made at a consultative meeting held in Amugu Sub County and attended by Sub County, Town Councils and district councilors from Ajuri County.

The meeting was chaired by Chairperson of Town council and Sub County leaders of Ajuri, Robert Okullo who also doubles as the LC3 chairperson of Angetta Sub County.

It was resolved that Adwir, Angetta and Omoro Town council and Omoro Sub-county will make up Ajuri East while Ajuri county will be composed of Amugo sub county, Amugo Town Council, Abako, and Awei.

Alebtong District chairman DK Odongo told Voice of Lango FM that the resolution will be forwarded to the district council for ratification and then to ministry of local government for scrutiny before final approval by parliament.

Alebtong District council is expected to discuss the matter tomorrow Thursday.

According to Electoral Commission statistics, Ajuri County has a voting population of 51,747 of which 27,026 are females meanwhile 24,721 are males.

Recently in Oyam, the district council approved the creation of Oyam Central Constituency, Kamdini Municipality and Aber District.

President Yoweri Kaguta Museveni how ever in an address last Saturday cautioned leaders against creation of new administrative unit advising them to go slow down on it.