June 18, 2024

Erute South elevated to Police Division

By Isaac Okello (Isaac.okello@vol.co.ug)


Lira East Police Division in Saza Erute South on Monday received a new police commander to be stationed in Amach Town Council.

The deputy Regional Police Commander of North Kyoga, SSP Joab Wabwire unveiled the new DPC, SSP Kelly Kinene Akankwasha to Lira District leaders at a function held at Amac Town Council Hall.

SSP Wabwire said Lira East Police Division will comprise Agali, Barr, Itek, Amach Town Council and Awiodyek Sub County.

He said the police out posts of Agali, Bar, Itek, and Awiodyek will become police stations while Lira City becomes a metropolitan police area.

SSP Wabwire asked Amach Town Council leaders to offer land for constructing the police headquarters of Lira East Police Division.

The DPC of Lira East Police Division, Kelly Akankwasa Kinene pledged to work together with the people of Lira East division to fight crimes.

Lira District chairman RCM Okello Orik said Lira District will have its police headquarters situated in Ogur while for Erute the police headquarters will be established in Amach Town Council.

The speaker of Lira District, Moris Adem asked the district leaders to support developments in the district.

Amach Town Council chairman Fred Okwe pledged to work together with the new DPC.