April 15, 2024

Clergy, 2 Lango Canons appointed on Janani Luwum site development committee


By Voice of Lango Editorial (vol.co.ug)


The Bishop of Kitgum Diocese Rt.Rev.Wilson Kitara has appointed fourteen people as members of St. Janani Luwum Memorial Site Development committee.

The memorial site sits on 93 acres of land and once developed into a world class tourist center is expected to attract pilgrims from all over the world.

The members who will serve for a period of four years were nominated by the sitting Bishops of the Northern Uganda Anglican Bishop’s fellowship and approved the Archbishop of the Church of Uganda, Most Rev.Dr Stephen Samuel Kazimba Mugalu.

During the 46th Celebrations to mark the martyrdom of St Janani Luwum at Mucwinini, Kitgum, Bishop Kitara unveiled the 14 member project development committee which will be required to develop the site into a world class pilgrimage center.

The celebrations for this year was held under the theme “conforming to the truth of God’s words not the patterns of the world” and the Chief Guest was Chief Justice Alfonse Chigamoy Owiny Dollo

Canon James Ogola has been appointed as the Chairperson and the other 13 members include Canon Dr. Gladys Aber Oyat, Rt. Rev. Johnson Gakumba, Minister Henry Oryem Okello, Ambassador Olara Otunu, Ben Okello luwum,Canon Onesimus Dralega and Canon Jackson Omona Kitgum diocesan secretary.

From Lango three people including, Canon William Ongeng who is currently serving as the provincial secretary for the Church of Uganda, Canon Richard Ogwang Odyero a representative of the West Lango Diocese and Canon Kenneth Odur who will be representing Diocese of Lango in the committee.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *