April 15, 2024

Moses Ayena wins Lira University Guild election

By Michael Ojok (editorial @vol.co.ug)


Moses Ayena has won Lira University Guild election.

Lira University returning officer,Loyang Beatrice while declaring the election results said 2,233 students registered for the election while 1,240 voted.

Ayena Moses Okwir won the election with 550 votes, beating his closest contender, Abuka Geoffrey with 522 votes, followed by Awio Kogan with 96, and Ogwal Paul Duli tailed with 68 votes

Ayena Moses in his maiden speech called on his opponents to work together with him to develop the university.

Abuka Geoffrey Alex accused the electoral commission of intrigue which led to his loss in the election.

He said they will sit with his team to decide on their next course of action in relation to the outcome of the election.

Bismarck Olang the electoral commission chairman of Lira University asked people who are dissatisfied with the outcome of the election to lodge formal complaints for redress.